The Department of Physics came into existence along with the establishment of the institution in the year 2008.It is now headed by Dr.K.Anbukumaran .The department of physics provides strong conceptual background to Engineering students to cope up with the needs of emerging technology at National and International Levels.The Department offers Ph.D programme in the areas of Material Science and Quantum Physics.